PDA

View Full Version : chart of accounts

brad
08-29-2001, 10:45 AM
Hi,

I am setting up Peachtree Accounting 2002 for a small business and have been asked to enter data for the past few months so when our fiscal year ends we may present the accountants with a disk rather than boxes of paper.

I am not familiar with accounting--I am a tech guy.

The data I have takes the form of several debit and credit entrys
for each account number for each month. These numbers do not balance so I cannot seem to enter them.

I have tried changing to a cash-based business, changing the date, and using general ledger entries. What simple thing am I not understanding?

thanks!
brad

Baytek
08-29-2001, 11:07 AM
In order to enter journal entries into Peachtree, they must be balanced. If you are entering beginning balances for your chart of accounts, then usually the off-setting account is the retained earnings account. However, it is not clear exactly what entries you are trying to make.

I recommend some training or phone support to help you get your company set up properly.

Baytek, an Authorized Peachtree Resource Center can train you, no matter where you are located. Please email support@baytek.com.

Baytek
Authorized Peachtree Resource Center
California Colorado Nevada

brad
08-29-2001, 12:25 PM
Thanks for the reply Baytek!

I have no problem entering beginning balances...my employer would like more information than that entered, however. I am supposed to give some indication of the activity within that account.

To simplify what I have been given, say I have a cash account and for that account I have two numbers...one being a credit and one being a debit amount for that account. Each debit total is the result of a month worth of debits for that account and the same for the credit total. I am, in other words, entering historical data, or trying to reconstruct the activity for an account for a period that has already passed.