Peachtree and Sage 50 Forums      

Go Back   Peachtree and Sage 50 Forums > Peachtree and Sage 50 software > Classic and DOS forum

Old 10-15-2012, 11:50 AM

Thumbs down DOS or Windows?

I have been using Peachtree for DOS Version 11 for many years, and although, due to migration, I lost some functionality, like Sales Reports,etc., it works fine.

However thinking towards the future, I was thinking that maybe we should get ready progress into a Windows-based version. However, since I test-drove a demo, I realized that the user is prevented from using some functions on the newer versions, like manually entering the new tax rates, for example. That has to be bought from Peachtree. Also, my CPA loves the reports from DOS, which the Windows version has less of the detail he wants.

With Microsoft supporting less and less the Command Prompt, I wanted to be ready in case they abandon it completely.

I would like to know what the pros and cons are of moving up to a Windows version, from users that were happy with the DOS versions.
Thank you in advance for your feedback.
Old 10-25-2012, 08:57 PM

You may want to talk to a Peachtree / Sage 50 Certified Consultant that knows both Peachtree DOS Version 11.0 and all of the current versions of Peachtree Windows (aka Sage 50) re the desired reports and the ability to provide. Most of the reports can be produced directly or via Crystal Reports, in a few cases, however, we typically can satisfy users needs.
Peachtree Certified Consultant
Sage Certified Trainer
Old 02-24-2013, 09:31 PM

Upgrade?

I just went from 13 to Sage 50 for Distribution 2012. That was the last year you can enter formulas manually as I was led to believe. I miss the DOS version and I am still running XP.