Peachtree and Sage 50 Forums      

Go Back   Peachtree and Sage 50 Forums > Peachtree and Sage 50 software > Classic and DOS forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-02-2013, 10:10 AM
stampinmom23 stampinmom23 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 4
Classic version 13 in Windows 8?

Wondering if my Classic Accounting Version 13 should work with a new computer that runs Windows 8? I also use the Bank Account Manager module, will that work with Windows 8? I have read Classic works with Windows 7 Professional, but cannot find any info about Windows 8. Thanks very much.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-02-2013, 08:59 PM
rick Prindivill rick Prindivill is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Miami/Ft. Lauderdale, Florida
Posts: 5,560
Peachtree Classic 13.0 - all of the accounting modules work with Win 7 and chances are high that they will function well on Win 8. However, some elements in the Utilities section of the program, Intelligent Query (report writer) and Bank Manager are written based on 16 bit criteria. Windows 7 & 8 are written to run both 64 bit and 32 bit programs. So, in summary, Peachtree Classic 13.0 has a number of incompatibilities when installed on a Win 7 computer and it follows that the same problems would continue with Win 8 based computers.
__________________
Rick Prindiville
PCO Consulting Services, Inc.
rick@pcosupport.com
Peachtree Certified Consultant
Sage Certified Trainer
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-03-2013, 10:30 AM
stampinmom23 stampinmom23 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 4
Thank you, and

I am a little confused - at first, it sounds like you think Ver 13 will function in Windows 7 and 8, but that the BAM portion will not? Then, it also sounds like maybe there are too many problems with the whole program working in 7 and/or 8? Any thoughts, I love the Peachtree version I have used for so long, especially because I can input my own tax tables etc - is there a way to keep it when we are being pushed into the newer operating systems? Thanks so much for your help, Rick.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-28-2013, 02:30 PM
QSILVER QSILVER is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 20
Win 7 Pro

I just set up a Win 7 Pro machine and can run Bank Account Manager and IQW and all other Modules except Utilities.
Win 7 Pro allows you to set program compatibility to prior versions of Windows, don't thin Win 7 Basic or Home allow it. You use PROPERTIES when you right click on the program in C:\PCA or on the Icon shortcut on the desktop. I went with using the directory and changed every APPLICATION to the WIN XP Service Pack 3 setting and then checked the DISABLE display scaling on high DPI monitors since I'm using a 23 inch monitor. This really makes the fonts crisp.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
all contents copyright (c) by AccountingUsers Inc.