PT 2000 key code? Call 1-800-999-9209.   Advertise here

Peachtree and Sage 50 Forums      

Go Back   Peachtree and Sage 50 Forums > Peachtree and Sage 50 software > Peachtree / Sage 50 Accounting forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-28-2006, 12:56 PM
bugtusslebabe bugtusslebabe is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 51
Master and Substock Items

Can you give me an example of how this would be used?

Thanks!
Dana
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-28-2006, 04:28 PM
rick Prindivill rick Prindivill is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Miami/Ft. Lauderdale, Florida
Posts: 5,560
Master - Substock Items.

Retailer sells T-Shirts in multiple sizes and colors.
Master Stock Item = T-SHIRT
1st Attribute could be = SIZE, with upto 20 sizes listed under this heading.
2nd Attribute could be = COLOR, with upto 20 colors listed under this heading.

Peachtree then creates new Sub-Stock Items using the Parent ID + 1st Attribute + 2nd Attribute. The format is 10character-4characters-4characters or XXXXXXXXX-XXXX-XXXX. "T-SHIRT-LARG-BLUE" along with each other T-SHIRT-size-color. Peachtree then will allow you to look up T-SHIRTS and see all of the choices or attibutes available. Each listing will be its own item and related quantity available.

There other variations of this structure i.e. Item number-Warehouse-Bin.
__________________
Rick Prindiville
PCO Consulting Services, Inc.
rick@pcosupport.com
Peachtree Certified Consultant
Sage Certified Trainer
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-28-2006, 07:13 PM
bugtusslebabe bugtusslebabe is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 51
Great, Thank you, that helps. This is for a small used car dealership. The current (very pricey) system uses the Vehicle Identification Number to track the vehicle. I am trying to streamline the work by using Peachtree for all the tasks (except writing contracts). I want inventory records that can be used more than once to cut down on data entry. I think using the sub-stock listing will work perfectly to track the VIN...the same vehicle ends up back on the lot often.

I can add new sub-stock items at any time, right?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-28-2006, 07:42 PM
rick Prindivill rick Prindivill is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Miami/Ft. Lauderdale, Florida
Posts: 5,560
Quote "I can add new sub-stock items at any time, right?"

The answer to the above question is YES, realizing that there is a limit of 20 attributes levels. As per my example of earlier Sizes - 20 choices, and Color - 20 choices per Master Stock Item.
__________________
Rick Prindiville
PCO Consulting Services, Inc.
rick@pcosupport.com
Peachtree Certified Consultant
Sage Certified Trainer
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-29-2006, 06:44 AM
Lisa_p Lisa_p is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 1,942
i'd look at serial numbers for tracking VINs - though I don't know how many characters a serial number can be. Rick - do you know?
__________________
Lisa Peterson
Streamline Consulting, Inc.
Minneapolis, MN

Peachtree Certified Consultant
Timeslips Certified Consultant
QuickBooks Advanced Certified ProAdvisor

http://www.businessexpertwebinars.co...peterson040208
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-29-2006, 11:55 AM
bugtusslebabe bugtusslebabe is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 51
I have heard that Premium version has it's own way of tracking serial numbers in inventory items. I am trying to decide if we should upgrade to that version. I haven't spent enough time yet to know if this will work using Peachtree Complete 2006 but it has got to be better than what they are using now. I appreciate the help!!!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-29-2006, 10:12 PM
bugtusslebabe bugtusslebabe is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 51
Quote "I can add new sub-stock items at any time, right?" The answer to the above question is YES, realizing that there is a limit of 20 attributes levels. As per my example of earlier Sizes - 20 choices, and Color - 20 choices per Master Stock Item.

I can add to them but can I change them after they've been used?

Say I use 20 in one year. Can I change one of the attributes later or will it go back and change the item id in a past record? In other words, does it work like "change id" does in customer and vendor files?

I think I need to find out more about the Premium version and it's ability to track id numbers. I had planned to use attributes to record the VIN. Even though this is a very small business, I am not sure it will work like I am thinking it will. (See my other post)

Thanks for your help!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
all contents copyright (c) by AccountingUsers Inc.