Peachtree and Sage 50 Forums      

Go Back   Peachtree and Sage 50 Forums > Peachtree and Sage 50 software > Peachtree / Sage 50 Accounting forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-26-2008, 09:58 AM
earlnation earlnation is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 5
can't open peachtree

Peachtree Complete Accounting 2008 version
When starting computer I see the message "Prefetcher has encountered a problem and needs to close" this includes the small peachtree logo.
I have not been able to open Peachtree Accounting.
All other programs on my computer are working correctly.
Any suggestions?? I have been trying for 2 1/2 hrs! HELP
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-26-2008, 10:21 AM
rick Prindivill rick Prindivill is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Miami/Ft. Lauderdale, Florida
Posts: 5,560
Check for the presence of Firewall Software including Windows Firewall. Disable each and try again. If you continue to have problems, then uninstall Peachtree and re-install it.
__________________
Rick Prindiville
PCO Consulting Services, Inc.
rick@pcosupport.com
Peachtree Certified Consultant
Sage Certified Trainer
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-26-2008, 12:13 PM
earlnation earlnation is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 5
data

If/ When i do the unistall and re-install. Will my data still be available or will i need to transfer from my back up disks?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-26-2008, 04:00 PM
rick Prindivill rick Prindivill is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Miami/Ft. Lauderdale, Florida
Posts: 5,560
Assuming that you re-install Peachtree to the same location as it is currently installed into then it will be immediately available to you.

It is always prudent to safe guard your data, so if you are unable to use Peachtree to provide a data backup, you can then use the likes of Winzip or comparable program. Worst case, you can copy your data folder to a safe location.
__________________
Rick Prindiville
PCO Consulting Services, Inc.
rick@pcosupport.com
Peachtree Certified Consultant
Sage Certified Trainer
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-13-2009, 06:05 AM
jdan818 jdan818 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1
Cool Prefetcher error

I have the same problem now, running win 2k just did some windows update
and this problem started.
When I try to start pt I get "could not start.net"
Any new ways to fix without reinstalling
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-13-2009, 06:49 PM
rick Prindivill rick Prindivill is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Miami/Ft. Lauderdale, Florida
Posts: 5,560
The program referred to as DOT NET or .net is a Microsoft Windows program. The full name is .Net Framework and there are several versions of it. Peachtree relies on this program. If is has been corrupted, you can uninstall it and reinstall it from Microsoft's website or from the Peachtree CD.

Note that Peachtree 2009 and newer will not install on a Windows 2000 workstation.
__________________
Rick Prindiville
PCO Consulting Services, Inc.
rick@pcosupport.com
Peachtree Certified Consultant
Sage Certified Trainer
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
all contents copyright (c) by AccountingUsers Inc.