PT 2000 key code? Call 1-800-999-9209.   Advertise here

Peachtree and Sage 50 Forums      

Go Back   Peachtree and Sage 50 Forums > Peachtree and Sage 50 software > Premium Accounting forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-06-2010, 08:55 AM
krazeecrw krazeecrw is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 15
Moving Peachtree to a new server

I am in process of migrating Peachtree 2009 Premium Accounting to another server. Currently we have 5 licenses (4 are used by clients and 1 is used by the network server which just holds company files).

When installing on the new server is there anything in particular I should be aware of? Is it just as easy as installing the program on the new server, copying the company data files from old server to the new and changing the client links to point to the new server?

Are there any licensing errors I may run into during this transition?

I just want to make sure the switchover goes over smoothly.

Any suggestions or advice is appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-06-2010, 08:05 PM
Marques Ward Marques Ward is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: pittsburgh
Posts: 390
Send a message via MSN to Marques Ward Send a message via Yahoo to Marques Ward
the server is not using a license unless peachtree is being run. load the server first. Depending on your ability, you may want to uninstall the workstations then reinstall so that the installation will find the datapath. If you understand what peachtree looks for you can edit the ini file.
__________________
Certified Comsultant
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-07-2010, 07:49 AM
krazeecrw krazeecrw is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 15
so if i install the server, shut down the other peachtree server and then change the links on the client workstations everything should go smoothly?

I appreciate it all your help!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-07-2010, 09:11 AM
sbrader sbrader is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 54
We migrated to a new server a year or so ago. It went without a hitch. I merely made sure the mappings in the login scripts identified the new shared folder as the same drive letter as the old had been and we didn't have to change anything on the clients. It worked like a charm.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-07-2010, 10:03 AM
krazeecrw krazeecrw is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 15
Perfect. I have mapped the network drives as well so I will just remap the clients and we should be good to do.

Thanks for the response
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
all contents copyright (c) by AccountingUsers Inc.